Garden Musings

The Language of Flowers

Millions of bouquets of red roses will be given to sweethearts all across the country today. Have you ever wondered why red roses? Why not daisies or tulips or even dandelions?

The answer lies in the language of flowers, or floriography, a centuries old practice. In Victorian times, flowers were often given to convey emotions not dared expressed aloud. Over time, the meanings of flowers have changed or become less important to most people. Instead, the historical language of flowers has been replaced with those that remind us of people, places or special events. But, on February 14, traditions take over and it is bouquets of red roses for everyone.

Red roses are not the only flowers that proclaim love of another.

Chrysanthemums (Red): I Love You

Coreopsis: Love at First Sight

Forget-me-Nots: True Love, Memories

Heliotrope: Eternal Love

Honeysuckle: Bonds of Love

Orange Blossoms: Eternal Love, Marriage & Fruitfulness

Phlox: Hearts are United

Tulips (Red): Declaration of Love, Perfect Love

Yarrow: Everlasting Love

According to the language of flowers, a rose is not a rose is not a rose.

Red Roses: Love, Desire, Passion

Coral Roses: Friendship, Modesty, Sympathy

Dark Crimson Roses: Mourning

Lavender Roses: Love at First Sight

Orange Roses: Desire, Enthusiasm

Pink Roses: Admiration, Appreciation, Grace, Perfect Happiness, Gentleness

Yellow Roses: Joy, Friendship, Jealousy, Promise of New Beginning, Decrease of Love

White Roses: Innocence, Purity, Worthy of You, Reverence, Secrecy, Silence

Happy Valentine’s Day! Enjoy the flowers you receive today whatever type or color they may be, and remember…it won’t be long until you can garden with me!







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *